Conference Announcement

University of Bialystok Faculty of Economics and Computer Sciences in Vilnius

is organizing an international conference on:

Institutional Conditions for an Innovative Development of a Contemporary Economy, <u>23-25 May 2019, Vilnius, Lithuania</u>

The conference is organized under the patronage by Professor Robert Ciborowski, Rector, University of Bialystok

<u>The conference main aim</u>: to exchange and discuss recent results of the thematic research conducted in various countries of Western and Eastern Europe.

The conference themes:

- Institutional and organizational conditions for an economy's innovative development
- Barriers and driving forces for an innovative development
- The firm as a key actor on the innovation scene
- The role of R&D and higher education in an economic growth
- Smart specializations as an innovative challenge
- Science-business cooperation for innovation
- The role of start-ups and technological entrepreneurship in modernization of a national economy
- Public innovation policy in the times of globalization

Key-note speakers:

- Professor Robert Ciborowski, Rector, University of Bialystok, Poland
- Professor Thomas Baaken, Science-to-Business Marketing Research Centre, University of Applied Sciences, Muenster, Germany
- Professor Panayiotis Ketikidis, South-East European Research Centre, Thessaloniki, Greece and University of Sheffield International College, Sheffield, G. Britain
- Professor Marina Ranga, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

<u>Venue and accommodation</u>: Hotel 'Pan Tadeusz', Dom Kultury Polskiej, Vilnius, Naugarduko Street 76

<u>The conference attendance</u>: by invitation. The organizers cover local costs (accommodation, meals, excursion). Foreign speakers are exempt from payment of conference fees.

<u>The conference proceedings:</u> available on the day of arrival. The best papers will be published in 'OPTIMUM-Economic Studies'.

Important dates:

- 31 January 2019 a one-page abstract
- 30 April 2019 a full paper

Social programme: a tour to Troki (on Saturday 25th), and a walk around the city centre

Organizing Committee:

- Andrzej Jasinski, the conference chair
- Elzbieta Majewska, financial issues
- Ernest Ginc, current matters; e-mail: ernest.ginc@gmail.com

International Scientific Committee:

- Prof. Andrzej Jasinski (chairman)
- Prof. Mieczyslawa Zdanowicz, Dean of The Faculty
- Prof. Thomas Baaken, Germany
- Dr Igor Egorov, Ukraine
- Dr Thorben Hanel, G. Britain
- Prof. Panayiotis Ketikidis, Greece and G. Britain
- Prof. Ewa Okon-Horodynska, Poland
- Prof. Marina Ranga, European Commission
- Prof. Leonardas Rinkevicius, Lithuania
- Dr Kasia Zalewska-Kurek, Netherlands